Plastic wrap

by Bec Fary

I woke to the sound of someone scrunching plastic, maybe bubble wrap or a plastic bag. At first it sounded like it was coming from the next room, but it grew louder and closer, as if someone was rubbing plastic into my ears.

It kept getting louder and closer but I was paralysed and couldn’t move away from it. Finally the sound got so close that it took over my whole body, as if I was the plastic and someone was scrunching me, moving me to make this enormous sound.

I couldn’t move, it felt like I was half asleep and struggling to wake up and then I heard a man’s voice in the room.

I kept trying to move and wake up and the plastic sensation went away, but I felt like I’d gone completely numb and heavy and still couldn’t move, then someone was dragging me across the bed.

I still couldn’t move and I could so clearly feel the bed spread slipping away from me as my whole body was dragged. Finally I woke up for real and realised I must have been dreaming or half asleep.

I was completely alone, the man’s voice and the sound of plastic had come from nowhere. Feeling numb and heavy and paralysed still, I was terrified that those dream sensations weren’t real because they were more vivid than waking life.

