by Bec Fary

I remember being in a bedroom, I think it was the morning after a party. But the party was also continuing around us at the same time. People were just waking up, telling stories about the night before, while getting ready to party again. Someone I’d just met was annoyed at one of my friends who wasn’t there.

The person I’d just met showed me a clothesline in the bedroom with underpants hanging from it, lining the walls. There was a red pair with a wet stain. My friend had borrowed the underpants, wet himself, and returned the pants without telling the owner (the person I’d just met).

A and B came into the bedroom to talk to me but they ignored everyone else. They were wasted, knocking things and people over and the others in the room were annoyed.

And I was with the same people on a beach too but the water was far away. It was the next day, the party was over. A and B were some way off along the beach. I walked away from my friends to talk to them. They were tired and dirty, but also animated and talking very fast. I knew they were on drugs. I asked them if they did this every day. They were embarrassed and apologetic about what happened at the party, and they didn’t want to sit with my friends, so I left.

_________

There was more to the same dream but I’m not sure if it was connected.

Three of us were sitting in a library, I was in the middle between C and D. I was climbing over C’s lap, to get to the wires of his computer. C and D caught up as old friends, even though I didn’t know they knew each other. I remember watching the three of us on the couch from a distance, but I was still sitting on the couch at the same time.

D and I were trying to read a book about the sea, and there was a part of my dream (though I’m not sure where it fits sequentially) where I was one of the book’s characters, swimming and trying to catch fish. the water was choppy and up to my neck. At the same time I was harvesting seaweed. I was watching myself do this, while also knowing that I was a father, shameful that I couldn’t provide for my family. At the same time I was also that man’s daughter, and with D we were trying to teach him a new method of harvesting seaweed.

There was a beautiful woman swimming too, and I could feel the sensations of her body in the water. I think she was maybe a mermaid or something. I followed her for a while until I resurfaced to the library.

Turns out the mermaid was a spin-off character from the original book we were reading. I think we argued about the book but I can’t remember the rest.

 

