blue.

by Bec Fary

I dreamt about waking up and making coffee. The kitchen was very clean and organised, but also chaotic. We were staying in someone else’s house, maybe housesitting, and I didn’t know where anything was. I was juggling two coffee machines, trying to use parts from both but they wouldn’t fit together. Half were small, half were bigger and some were covered in coffee grinds.

My mum arrived and I was shocked. I started washing the coffee grinds away, and wanted to clean everything.

I think I woke briefly and fell asleep again. I was somewhere else, in a different house. Everything was blue.

Everything I dreamt last night was vivid and colourful. In this segment of the dream, I held a large, thick poster with tiny cartoon characters on it. I think the characters were moving, running away from my finger as I followed them on the page.

The poster was a dark, dusty blue, with white lettering in the centre spelling

LOVE

I was trying to pin it above the bed.

Later in the same dream, I was waiting for two people, or maybe just watching them. A young man and an older woman were at a hat stand, gathering their jackets and bags. I got the feeling I was watching them intensely, but invisibly. They were unaware.

In their clothes and scarves, there were accents of the brightest royal blue. As the people moved, they revealed more bright blue accents in their jacket linings. The scene in front of me was evolving and explosive. I was transfixed by the colour.

I had an overpowering desire to record the scene. I wanted to take a photo, though part of me knew I wouldn’t be able to do the colours justice. I didn’t have my camera, but couldn’t leave to get it for fear of looking away. I was paralysed by the conflicting desire of wanting to capture something while it changed, escaping vision.

